2021 College Leaders announced

Spontaneous cheers and loud applause greeted the Rector’s announcement of the names of next year’s leaders at Formal Dinner on Wednesday 16 September.

The previous evening, the students had gathered to elect their President for 2021. They heard separately from those who had put their names forward for consideration and had the opportunity to ask questions to each of them from the floor. A secret ballot was then held, with most students casting their votes immediately. Polling was open again the next morning for those who were unable to be present.

The tallied results were passed to the Rector for his ratification which he readily gave.

‘It was my delight to be able to offer the position to Ruby Yates,’ said Brother Michael. ‘She has the overwhelming support of the students and is excited about taking on this critical role in the life of the College community. I very much look forward to working with her.’

Rub (pictured), from Port Augusta, is in the second year of a Bachelor of Contemporary Art degree, and is the current Secretary of the Student Club.

Also announced were next year’s House Coordinators. Applicants for these staff positions had gone through a rigorous process involving an information evening, a detailed written application and panel interview.

Brother Michael said that he and the Vice-Rector, Carolyn Mee, had a difficult choice in settling on the final ten, given the calibre of those who applied.

‘It is always a hard call,’ said Brother Michael, ‘because there are so many of the next year’s Seniors who would make excellent HCs.’

The Rector said that both of next year’s Senior House Coordinators, Jordan Tucker (from Mount Gambier) and Emma Livingstone (from Mildura), were highly respected students, each having been a recipient of the Marcellin Medallion, indicating their personal living out of the Marist values of the College.

‘The enthusiastic response from the students when their names were read out indicated the esteem both Emma and Jordan enjoy among their peers.’

Other appointees to the House Coordinator team were: Maggie Daw (from Port Augusta), Felix Ding (from Melbourne), Ben Harvey (from Broken Hill), Jack Elsdon (from Barmera), Matt Jury (from Berri), Shyla Lange (from Loxton), Chiara Trevison (from Port Augusta), and Liam Wormald (from Loxton).

Next term sees the appointment of further student staff roles, the election of the rest of the Executive of the Student Club, and the awarding of a range of service and leadership scholarships.


Back to Blog Page