Collegiate Dinner Celebrates Academic Achievements of Aquinas Students in Semester One!

The Archbishop of Adelaide, Patrick O ’Regan, joined us for the Collegiate Dinner and Academic Awards Ceremony, on Sunday 30 July to celebrate the wonderful academic achievements of our students in Semester One and to welcome all that Semester Two holds for the College. Joining the Archbishop as special guests were the Chair of the Aquinas Council, Joanne Sawyer: Chair of the South Australian Commission for Catholic Schools, John Neate: Executive Director of Catholic Education South Australia, Dr. Neil McGoran, and Councillor Bruce Debenham and his partner Angela Debenham.

There was much to celebrate, given the outstanding results for the first semester. Academic Director, Dr Sarah Moller, said that the College was once again pleased with how students fared.

The major awards on the night were taken out by Michael Duffett, from Hobart, who won the Father Michael Scott prize for best results overall, and Tasmin Smith from Loxton who won the Father James McInerney Prize for highest achieving first-year student.

Individual faculty prizes went to: Amelia Smart (Crystal Brook) for Arts; Eliza Monger (Kadina) for Education; Michael Duffett (Hobart) for Engineering; Tahlia Drogemuller (Loxton) for Nursing; Charlie Powell (Kimba) for Science; Tasmin Smith (Loxton) and James Gourley (Melbourne) for Medicine.

Notable Improvement Awards were achieved by Austin Rossi, William Britten-Jones, Kym Errity, Jeffrey Judd, and Sam Breuer.

Back to Blog Page