Collegiate Dinner the perfect end to O’ Week

The traditional Collegiate Dinner and Awards Ceremony to commence the 2023 Academic year was again a successful night.

Academic Director, Dr Sarah Moller presented a brief summary of the 2022 Semester 2 results and the outstanding grades of Aquinas students were highlighted. Amazingly, 11 % of students achieved a High Distinction average, 38% of students attained a Distinction average or higher and over 68% of the entire cohort attained a credit average or higher!

For the first time, as part of this evening, our Partner School Scholarship winners were acknowledged . These scholarships, valued at $5000, are awarded to one student from each of our 5 regional partner schools. The student with the highest ATAR over 95 attending Aquinas receives this scholarship. We were pleased to have Ms Michelle Coote from Tenison Woods College and Ms Catherine Gurr from St Joseph’s School Port Lincoln in attendance to present the Scholarships to Jacinta Hodge (Caritas College), Max Sturman (St Joseph’s School Port Lincoln) and Jessica Tresidder (Tenison Woods College).

Some special prizes were also given out:

Faculty awards went to: Montana Foster (Medicine), Amelia Smart (Arts), Joel Duncan (Business), Kayla Sanders (Education), Michael Duffett (Engineering), Lilly Phillips (Nursing), Angus Turner (Science) and Talya Powell (Allied Science)

The Kennedy Family Prize for the top junior student: Will Scanlon

The Brother Austin Stephens Prize for the top second year student: Michael Duffett

The Father C.P Finn Prize for the top senior student: Noah Waters

Commendable Improvement Awards went to Matty Bennett, Josh Cornolo, Alex Jarnevic and Nash Richman

Also receiving a special mention was Chelsea Crosby who achieved a Distinction in her dual diploma in Screen and Media Makeup and Beauty. She also received the Service Excellence award with Distinction and was the French Beauty Academy valedictorian.

The final award of the night was the naming of the Dux of 2022, and recipient of the Aquinas Medal. The deserving recipient was Michael Duffett

Back to Blog Page